hwa chong jc alumni Annual General meeting 2020

The Hwa Chong Junior College Alumni Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on 29 February 2020, at Venus Ballroom of Furama Riverfront Hotel. Over 40 members turned up to attend the AGM, making it a lively affair, despite an evolving COVID-19 situation. Precautions such as temperature taking and submitting of health and travel declaration forms were taken accordingly.

Following informative presentations by Mr Ronald Tay (President, 33rd ExCo) and Ms Sanny Ong (Honorary Auditor, 33rd ExCo) and spirited discussion among members, the AGM voted in favour of two key items:

  1. To amend the term of office for the Executive Committee from 1 year to 3 years, thereby allowing the ExCo to perform longer-term planning and execution for the benefit of the alumnus.

  2. Establishment of a “HCJC Alumni Student Education Fund” under Community Foundation of Singapore for management of donations, for various student financial assistance schemes (bursaries, scholarships and book prizes) for Hwa Chong Institution supported by the HCJC Alumni. Click on pdf for more details.

Student Education Fund
Download PDF • 809KB

The fund raising effort for the HCJC Alumni Student Education Fund (SEF) at the AGM received strong commitment from supportive alumni members and Patrons. The total commitment of $180,000 was an encouraging start towards our SEF fund raising. Donations received post-AGM further pushed this figure up to $230,000.

With more formal matters concluded, Mr Ronald Tay shared a light-hearted update on highlights of 2019. It was a fun-filled year with regular and special activities to build the Alumni community and foster the family spirit, support the school in many ways, and to celebrate Hwa Chong Institution’s 100th-year and Hwa Chong Junior College’s 45th-year anniversaries. Click on pdf for more details.

2019 Highlights
Download PDF • 1.06MB

As a final item, Mr Quek Wee Tong, Returning Officer of the Elections Committee, confirmed 7 valid nominations received for the incoming 34th Executive Committee (2020 / 2021). These include Mr Ronald Tay, Mr Chua Aik Boon, Ms Sanny Ong, Ms Annie Low, Dr John Yam, Ms Tan Wan Lin, and Mr Lim Wee Meng.


Recent Posts

See All

To all members, 1. Notice is hereby given that the above event will be held as follows: Date : 30 March 2021 (Tuesday) Time : 7.30 pm – 9.00 pm Venue : Virtual (Please register at http://bit.ly/h